Natural light

Whether by its shape, its color, or its fragrance, the contemporary candle has been reinvented, reinterpreted in diverse forms, and associated with other objects to create the most creative graphic combinations!

Far from the white wax candle of our ancestors, candles today find their inspiration in figurative forms, sometimes abstract, and become true decorative objects.

Displayed alone or arranged with other candles to create a colorful ensemble, this art explores materials and media, and illuminates our interiors with a brighter flame than ever.

The candles of Maison Matisse

We have designed for you a set of candles with simple and pure shapes cast in natural wax, molded and colored throughout using natural pigments, and with unique natural fragrances. Unlike industrially made candles, they retain a satin aspect typical of artisanal wax, which allows them to burn slowly for your full enjoyment.

The Carré and Portée candles, inspired by the shapes and colors of Henri Matisse's painting La Musique (1939), are made entirely by hand by one of the last master candlemakers in France.

Casting, molding, and straightening of the wicks are just a few of the many skills which represent the know-how transmitted from master to master.

Several steps are required to make them, starting with the creation of a silicone mold in the shape of the candle. The wax is then melted at a precise temperature, which is determined after numerous tests to find the ideal temperature for the shape and colorings used for each candle. Natural perfumes are then added, meticulously selected by our master candlemaker in Grasse, the perfume capital of the world. The candle poured directly into the mold will cool for half a day before being removed and finished by hand.

The wick is made of two natural fibers: linen to preserve the flame, and cotton to allow for an ideal burn and the optimal release of the fragrances. The dyes are custom-made from natural pigments from the city of Avignon.

Recognized French know-how

We have chosen to work with one of the last French creators of handmade candles, who possessesthe rare and coveted diploma of Master Candlemaker.

Located on the French Riviera, a fertile land for craftwork for generations, our master candlemaker is an expert in myriad candlemaking techniques using paraffin and 100% natural plant-based waxes.

With one of the last entirely manual candle carousels, he ensures that this unique know-how is passed on from master to master. Indeed, the manual molding technique prevents air from entering the candle, thus providing a slow burn and a candle that does not drip. Another testament to the unique character of his creations, our master craftsman has been distinguished by the "Métiers d'Art” (applied arts) label, which conveys the creativity and the authentic "Made in France" know-how developed over the centuries. By entrusting him with the creation of our candles, we wish above all to support these crafts par excellence, whose contribution to our cultural heritage must be supported and protected. As professions arising from a passion for the material and the messages it can transmit, the Métiers d'Art label strives to enthusiastically provide publicity about activities sometimes unknown to the public.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

Our advice

The first burn is important, as it allows the wax to be distributed evenly over the entire surface of the candle, thus ensuring an optimal release of the fragrances.

Once the candle is burning, it is advisable to check that the entire top layer of wax is perfectly liquid: this guarantees a uniform burn.

Be careful not to place the candle in a drafty area, as this can cause the wick to burn unevenly and consume the candle more quickly. We also recommend you cut the wick between 0,5 cm and 1 cm from the surface so that the candle burns more efficiently the next time it is lit, and to ensure that it is always well centered. To do this, feel free to use pliers to reposition it when the wax is cold.

Discover all our candles
Carré candle figs scent, red
Carré candle figs scent, red 40 €
Carré candle orange blossom scent, ochre
Carré candle orange blossom scent, ochre 40 €
Carré candle tuberose scent, blue
Carré candle tuberose scent, blue 40 €
Carré candle santal scent, green
Carré candle santal scent, green 40 €
Carré candle almond/cotton scent, natural
Carré candle almond/cotton scent, natural 40 €
Carré candle santal scent, black
Carré candle santal scent, black 40 €
Lot of two Carré candles almond/cotton scent, natural
Lot of two Carré candles almond/cotton scent, natural 35 €
Lot of two Carré candles figs scent, red
Lot of two Carré candles figs scent, red 35 €
Lot of two Carré candles orange blossom scent, ochre
Lot of two Carré candles orange blossom scent, ochre 35 €
Lot of two Carré candles santal scent, black
Lot of two Carré candles santal scent, black 35 €
Lot of two Carré candles santal scent, green
Lot of two Carré candles santal scent, green 35 €
Lot of two Carré candles tuberose scent, blue
Lot of two Carré candles tuberose scent, blue 35 €

une lumière naturelle

Que ce soit par sa forme, sa couleur et son parfum, la bougie contemporaine se réinvente, se décline et s’associe, en créant des associations graphiques des plus créatives !

Loin de la chandelle en cire blanche de nos aïeuls, la bougie trouve aujourd’hui son inspiration dans des formes figuratives, parfois abstraites, et devient un vrai objet de décoration.

Disposée seule ou combinée à d’autres bougies pour créer un ensemble coloré, elle explore la matière et les supports, et illumine nos intérieurs d’une flamme plus vive que jamais.

les bougies de maison matisse

Nous avons dessiné pour vous un ensemble de bougies aux formes simples et épurées, coulées en cire naturelle, moulées et teintées dans la masse à partir de pigments naturels, aux parfums naturels uniques. Gardant un aspect satiné typique de la cire artisanale, elles permettent, à la différence des bougies industrielles, un brûlage lent dont vous profiterez pleinement.

Les bougies Carré et chandelles Portée, trouvant leur inspiration dans les formes et les couleurs du tableau La Musique d’Henri Matisse (1939), sont entièrement réalisées à la main par l’un des derniers maîtres ciriers en France.

Coulage, moulage, redressage des mèches, autant d’actions qui représentent un savoir-faire qui se transmet de maître en maître.

Plusieurs étapes sont nécessaires à leur fabrication, débutant par la création d’un moule en silicone à la forme de la bougie. La cire est ensuite fondue à une température précise, déterminée après de nombreux tests visant à trouver la température idéale selon la forme et les colorants utilisés pour chaque bougie. Sont ensuite ajoutés les parfums naturels, minutieusement sélectionnés par notre maître cirier à Grasse, capitale du parfum. La bougie coulée directement dans le moule va refroidir pendant une demi-journée, avant d’être démoulée pour être finalisée à la main.

La mèche est composée de deux fibres naturelles : du lin pour garder la flamme et du coton pour permettre un brulage idéal et la libération optimale des parfums. Les colorants, quant à eux, sont créés sur mesure à partir de pigments naturels provenant de la ville d'Avignon.

un savoir-faire français reconnu

Nous avons choisi de travailler avec l’un des derniers fabricants français de bougies artisanales, possédant un diplôme rare et convoité : celui de maître Cirier.

Installé sur la Côte d’Azur, véritable terre fertile à l’artisanat depuis des générations, notre maître cirier maîtrise et utilise de nombreuses techniques de fabrication de bougies, conçues en paraffines et cires végétales 100% naturelles.

Possédant l’un des derniers manèges à bougies entièrement manuel, il est garant d’un savoir-faire unique transmis de maître en maître. En effet, la technique de moulage manuel permet d’éviter la présence d’air à l’intérieur de la bougie, offrant un brûlage lent, ainsi qu’une bougie qui ne coule pas. Autre témoin du caractère unique de ses créations, notre maître artisan est distingué du label des Métiers d’Art, filière traduisant la créativité et le savoir-faire authentique « Made in France » élaboré au fil des siècles. En lui confiant la création de nos bougies, nous souhaitons avant tout soutenir ces métiers d’excellence dont la contribution au patrimoine culturel doit être soutenue et protégée. Métiers issus d’une passion pour la matière et les messages qu’elle peut transmettre, les métiers d’art s’attachent à communiquer, avec enthousiasme, sur une activité parfois méconnue du public.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

nos conseils

Le premier brûlage est important, puisqu’il permet de répartir la cire de manière uniforme sur toute la surface de la bougie, visant à garantir une libération optimale des parfums.

Dans le même esprit, lorsque la bougie se consume, il est conseillé de vérifier que toute la couche supérieure de cire est parfaitement liquide : cela garantit un brûlage homogène.

Veillez à ne pas placer la bougie en plein courant d’air, au risque de voir la mèche brûler inégalement et se consumer plus vite. Nous vous conseillons également de couper la mèche entre 0,5cm et 1cm de la surface, pour favoriser une meilleure combustion lors du prochain brûlage, et de vous assurer qu’elle soit toujours bien centrée. Pour cela, n’hésitez-pas à utiliser une pince pour la replacer, lorsque la cire est froide.

Découvrez toutes nos bougies
Bougie Carré parfum figue, rouge
Bougie Carré parfum figue, rouge 40 €
Bougie Carré parfum fleur d'oranger, ocre
Bougie Carré parfum fleur d'oranger, ocre 40 €
Bougie Carré parfum tubéreuse, bleu
Bougie Carré parfum tubéreuse, bleu 40 €
Bougie Carré parfum santal, vert
Bougie Carré parfum santal, vert 40 €
Bougie Carré parfum amande/coton, naturel
Bougie Carré parfum amande/coton, naturel 40 €
Bougie Carré parfum santal, noir
Bougie Carré parfum santal, noir 40 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum amande/coton, naturel
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum amande/coton, naturel 35 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum figue, rouge
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum figue, rouge 35 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum de fleur d'oranger, ocre
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum de fleur d'oranger, ocre 35 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum santal, noir
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum santal, noir 35 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum santal, vert
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum santal, vert 35 €
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum tubéreuse, bleu
Lot de deux chandelles Carré parfum tubéreuse, bleu 35 €