Octave pitcher

Designer: Marta Bakowski

1 200 €
Description

The Octave pitcher is part of a series of earthenware table pieces designed by Marta Bakowski, in collaboration with Maison Matisse. 
Although designed to hold both water and wine, our pitcher can also be used as a vase, according to on your desires. 
Its singular ornamental character and generous dimensions also allow it to be used as a decorative object in its own right, bringing character and color to your interior design. 

Features

• Dimensions (in.) : Ø8,2 x H14,5
• Materials: earthenware 
• Made for you, in Italy, in the region of Tuscany.

Maintenance advice
Hand wash with a mild soap and non-abrasive sponge, and then gently wipe with a lint-free cloth. Do not put in the dishwasher
Delivery
In stock, delivered within 3 to 7 days.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

Arts and materials

Like Matisse's work, the Octave pitcher is meant to be a lasting piece: it should be cherished, kept, and passed on from generation to generation. This spirit of passing on family traditions is also found in the creation of this piece, which was entrusted to a family workshop located in Tuscany since 1921. The Octave pitcher is a true feat of craftsmanship made with ancestral know-how handed down through several generations, and which only a few craftsmen still possess today. Fired twice in order to protect the colors against the test of time, the whole decorative design is painted by hand. 

The Octave pitcher is the result of a union between a palette of bright colors and a matte enamel finish. While conducting her research, the designer asked herself the inevitable question: what material would most closely translate Matisse's artistic character? Indeed, each material carries with it its own connotations, and each material is intimately linked to its manufacturing process. Thus, the choice was naturally made to use noble materials such as ceramics to create the pieces for this collection.

Inspiration

Like all the pieces in the La Musique collection, the Octave pitcher is inspired by Henri Matisse's 1939 painting of the same name. Her motifs are an interpretation of the pictorial elements present in the painting. The generous curves and bright colors of the Octave pitcher unequivocally recall the shapes of the silhouettes present in the painting as well as the inspiration that Henri Matisse found in the south of France, in Nice.

Discover more about the inspirations behind the collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse invited the young designer Marta Bakowski to create its first permanent collection inspired by the painting La Musique (1939). The Franco-Polish designer took the palette of colors and brilliantly reinterpreted the most representative themes of Henri Matisse's work, such as the philodendron leaf, the figure of the woman and music.

More information

Marta Bakowski

Cruche Octave

Designer : Marta Bakowski

1 200 €
Description
La cruche Octave fait partie de la série de pièces en faïences d'art de la table dessinée par la designer Marta Bakowski, en collaboration avec Maison Matisse. 
Bien que pensée pour accueillir aussi bien de l’eau que du vin, notre cruche peut tout à fait servir de vase, en fonction de vos envies. 
Son caractère ornemental singulier et ses dimensions généreuses lui permettent également d’évoluer en tant qu’objet de décoration à part entière, en apportant du caractère et de la couleur à votre décoration d’intérieur.
Caractéristiques
• Dimensions : Ø 21 cm | Hauteur : 37cm
• Matériaux : faïence
• Fabriqué pour vous, en Italie, dans la région de Toscane

Conseils d'entretien
Lavage à la main avec un savon doux et une éponge non abrasive et un essuyage délicat avec un linge non pelucheux. Ne pas mettre au lave-vaisselle.
Livraison
En stock, livré sous 3 à 7 jours.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

L'art et la Matière

À l’image de l’oeuvre de Matisse, la cruche Octave souhaite s’inscrire dans la durée : elle se chérit, se garde et se transmet de génération en génération. Cet esprit de transmission se retrouve également dans la réalisation de cette pièce, confiée à un atelier familial situé en Toscane depuis 1921. Reprenant un savoir-faire ancestral transmis sur plusieurs générations, dont seuls quelques artisans sont encore dotés aujourd’hui, la cruche Octave est une réelle prouesse artisanale. Cuite à deux reprises afin de fixer les couleurs à l’épreuve du temps, l'ensemble du décor est peint à la main. La cruche Octave est le fruit de l’alliance entre une palette de couleurs vives et un émail au rendu final mat.

Lors de son travail de recherche, la designer s'est posé une question inévitable : quel matériau traduirait au plus proche le caractère plastique de Matisse ? En effet, chaque matière transporte avec elle ses connotations et chaque matériau est intimement lié à son procédé de fabrication. Ainsi, le choix s'est porté naturellement vers des matières nobles telles que la céramique pour la création des pièces de cette collection.

 

 

L'inspiration

À l'instar de toutes les pièces qui composent la collection La Musique, la cruche Octave est inspirée du tableau éponyme d'Henri Matisse peint en 1939. Ses motifs sont une interprétation des éléments picturaux présents dans la toile. Les courbes généreuses et les couleurs vives de la cruche Octave, rappellent sans équivoque les formes des silhouettes présentes dans l'oeuvre ainsi que l'inspiration que trouvait Henri Matisse dans le sud de la France, à Nice.

Découvrez-en plus sur les inspirations de la collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse a invité la jeune designer Marta Bakowski à créer sa première collection permanente. La jeune designer franco-polonaise, a extrait du tableau La Musique (1939) la palette de couleurs et réinterprété avec brio les thèmes le plus représentatifs de l'œuvre d'Henri Matisse, comme la feuille de philodendron, la figure de la femme et la musique.

Plus d'informations

Marta Bakowski