The limited edition collections are, for Maison Matisse, the occasion to celebrate important moments of Henri Matisse's life and work, through cartes blanches given to international designers.

In 2022, we celebrate the beginning of a very important era for the painter, which he will himself call his "second life" : the Cut-outs ; by editing a limited edition collection of lights with Italian designer duo Formafantasma.

The birth of FOLD collection

Inspired by Henri Matisse's Cut-outs, as well as the light symbolizing the "rebirth" of the painter, Andrea Trimarchi and Simone Farresin (behind the Italian duoFormafantasma), imagined for Maison Matisse a collection of lamps in limited edition

Découvrir toutes les pièces

The legacy of a leader of the avant-garde of the twentieth century meets here the imagination of the contemporary avant-garde and offers unique pieces, symbol of the requirement and optimism that characterized the work of the painter.

"We were always fascinated

by the exploratory nature of Henri Matisse's work, and in particular his use of cut-out papers, to study shapes and colors."

Formafantasma

A brief history

It was following a major operation that Henri Matisse began his work around cut-out paper, a real renaissance both artistically and personally, which he would continue to develop until the end of his life.

This idea came to him from preparatory work for various painting commissions, during which Matisse would cut out gouached paper with scissors, arranging the pieces to reconstruct the final work.

The grand and innovative character, as well as the scale of the works thus produced, remain unprecedented and continue to inspire generations of artists and creators.

In the manner of Henri Matisse, who used scissors to cut paper, the Formafantasma used a ruler and a blade. They then folded the paper into the final shapes of the lamps. The initial models, made to scale, thus gave birth to the Fold collection.

"We chose to collaborate with

the FORMAFANTASMA, for their poetic aesthetic, their work on balance and form, their practice encompassing a wide range of activities and methods"

Maison Matisse

"We loved the boldness of their interpretation

of Henri Matisse's cutouts. Formafantasma found a way to bring their minimalist style together with Henri Matisse's ultimate expression of color, both in the treatment of the pieces and in the shades."

Maison Matisse

Les collections en édition limitée sont, pour Maison Matisse, l'occasion de célébrer des moments précis de l'œuvre et de la vie d'Henri Matisse, à travers des cartes blanches laissées à des designers internationaux.

En 2022, la Maison décide ainsi de célébrer le début d’une période très importante dans l’œuvre du peintre, qu’il appellera lui-même sa « seconde vie » : les papiers découpés ; en éditant une collection de luminaires avec le duo de designers italiens Formafantasma.

Naissance de la collection FOLD

Inspirés des papiers-découpés d'Henri Matisse, ainsi que de la lumière symbolisant la "renaissance" du peintre, Andrea Trimarchi et Simone Farresin (à l'origine du duo italien Formafantasma), ont imaginé pour Maison Matisse une collection de luminaires en édition limitée.

Lustre Fold
Lustre Fold 0 €
Suspension Fold
Suspension Fold 0 €
Lampe à poser Fold
Lampe à poser Fold 0 €
Applique Fold
Applique Fold 0 €

L'héritage d'un chef de file de l'avant garde du XXème siècle rencontre ici l'imagination de l'avant-garde contemporaine, et offre des pièces uniques, symbole de l'optimisme qui caractérisait l'oeuvre du peintre.

"Nous avons toujours été fascinés

par le caractère exploratif du travail d'Henri Matisse, et en particulier par son utilisation des papiers-découpés, pour étudier les formes et les couleurs."

Formafantasma

files/Sans_titre_6.png

Un peu d'histoire

C'est à la suite d'une lourde opération qu'Henri Matisse débuta son travail autour du papier découpé, réelle renaissance tant artistique que personnelle, qu'il ne cessera de développer jusqu'à sa mort en 1954.

Cette idée lui vint d'un travail préparatoire à différentes commandes de tableaux, lors desquels Matisse découpait des papiers gouachés à l'aide de ciseaux, disposant les morceaux pour reconstruire l'oeuvre finale.

Le caractère grandiose et innovant, ainsi que l'ampleur des oeuvres ainsi réalisées, restent sans précédent et continuent d'inspirer des générations d'artistes et de créateurs.

"Nous avons choisi de collaborer avec

les FORMAFANTASMA, pour leur positionnement fort qui nous a semblé très intéressant : leur esthétique poétique, leur travail sur l'équilibre et la forme, leur façon de travailler en duo."

Maison Matisse

"Nous avons adoré l'audace de leur interprétation

des découpes d'Henri Matisse. Ils ont trouvé le moyen de faire se rencontrer leur style minimaliste avec l'expression ultime de la couleur qu'est celle d'Henri Matisse, tant dans le traitement des pièces que dans les teintes."

Maison Matisse