A LOVE OF TEXTILES

“To dress” and “to clothe”, two verbs that never cease to vibrate to the liking of textiles.

Two verbs that were long thought of as actors in just the fashion industry, they have discovered other horizons as they search for equally innovative and creative messages: those of design. A form of expression in their own right, textiles can be used for all types of fabric designs.

All it takes is a material, a touch, or a pattern to change the atmosphere of a room, to open it up to all or to make it intimate, to give it a character. Textile design has nothing to envy regarding fashion: it conveys its own strong messages of intimacy, warmth, hope, and renewal.

Although textile manufacturing represents one of the oldest forms of handicrafts, it was not until the 19th century that it really took off. Traditionally, textile design was more about decorating our interiors using curtains, drapes, and other household linens. Today, textiles are being used in much more varied ways, and its role is being completely redefined by new generations of designers.

Texture, color, thread structure, and weaving...everything is designed to create innovative fabrics that are nevertheless still anchored in a deep traditional heritage.

MAISON MATISSE AND JACQUARD FABRIC

In the Intérieur aux Aubergines collection, the fabrics of the seats, screens, wallpapers and cushions were made from natural cotton and viscose threads by an age-old Venetian factory dating from the eighteenth century. Here, high-tech Jacquard looms were used to create two models with lampas fabric using the Gobelin technique: one with a foliage pattern, the other with a pear pattern.

The jacquard loom is a loom developed in France in 1801 that combines Basile Bouchon's needles, Falcon's perforated cards, and Vaucanson's cylindrical rollers. The perforated cards guide the hooks that lift the warp threads, allowing the patterns to be woven.

Several weaving tests were necessary to obtain the four custom color components—two for the warp and two for the weft—designed by Cristina Celestino for our collection. The opaque aspect of the cotton creates a contrast with the semi-glossy appearance of the natural viscose, adding a sense of depth to the pattern.

Through research, know-how, and meticulous work, the Jacquard looms allow the creation of extremely high quality fabrics with an unparalleled complexity of patterns. A true work of art, this technique is still used today by manufacturers who are keen to perpetuate the know-how that has been passed down to them by supporting contemporary creations.

MERINO WOOL FOR OUR BLANKETS

Also made on Jacquard looms, whose weaving allows for a two-tone double-sided finish, our plaids are made of wool (50%) and extra-fine merino wool (50%) from New Zealand. Characterized for its extreme softness, merino wool makes each of our plaids envelope you in comfort.

Three times finer than traditional wool, merino wool is a luxurious and eco-friendly fiber. Comfortable and resistant, it is made of soft and silky fibers that allow for an ideal regulation of heat. Very healthy since it is non-allergenic, it is suitable for the most sensitive skin.

On a bed, armchair, or simply around the shoulders, our merino wool plaids always accompany you with softness.

UN AMOUR DU TEXTILE

Habiller ou vêtir, deux verbes qui ne cessent de vibrer au gré du textile.

Deux verbes pourtant pensés pendant longtemps comme des acteurs de l’industrie de la mode, ils se sont découverts d’autres horizons, en quête de messages tout aussi innovants et créatifs : ceux du design. Forme d’expression à part entière, le textile se décline sous toutes les coutures.

Il suffit d’une matière, d’un toucher ou d’un motif pour changer l’atmosphère d’une pièce, l’ouvrir à tous ou la rendre intime, lui forger un caractère. Le design textile n’a donc rien à envier à la mode : il transmet des messages forts, d’intimité, de chaleur, d’espoir et de renouveau.

Si le textile représente l’une des plus anciennes formes d'artisanat, il a fallu en réalité attendre le 19ème siècle pour qu’il connaisse son essor. Traditionnellement, le design textile concernait d’avantage l’habillement de nos intérieurs, sous la forme de rideaux, tentures et autres linges de maison. Aujourd'hui, le textile s’étend à des utilisations beaucoup plus variées et voit son rôle être entièrement redessiné par les nouvelles générations de designers.

Texture, couleur, structure des fils et tissage, tout est pensé pour concevoir des tissus novateurs, bien que toujours ancrés dans un héritage traditionnel profond.

MAISON MATISSE ET LE JACQUARD

Dans la collection Intérieur aux Aubergines, les tissus des assises, du paravent, des papiers-peints et des coussins, ont été réalisés en fils naturels de coton et viscose par une vénérable manufacture vénitienne qui date du XVIIIème siècle. Ici, des métiers à tisser Jacquard de la plus haute technologie ont été mis à disposition pour créer selon la technique des Gobelins deux modèles de lampas, l'un à motif feuillage, l'autre à motif poires.

Le métier jacquard est un métier à tisser mis au point en France en 1801, combinant les techniques des aiguilles de Basile Bouchon, des cartes perforées de Falcon et du cylindre de Vaucanson. Les cartes perforées guident les crochets qui soulèvent les fils de chaines, permettant de tisser les motifs.

Plusieurs tests de tissage ont été nécessaires pour obtenir quatre composantes de couleurs sur mesure, deux pour les chaînes et deux pour la trame, correspondant à celles imaginées par Cristina Celestino pour notre collection. Ainsi, l'aspect opaque du coton de la chaîne crée un contraste avec le semi-brillant de la trame en viscose naturelle afin de donner une impression de profondeur au motif.

Recherche, savoir-faire et minutie, les métiers à tisser Jacquard permettent la création de tissus de très haute qualité, avec une complexité de motifs inégalée. Réel travail d’orfèvre, cette technique est encore utilisée aujourd’hui par des manufactures ayant à cœur de faire perdurer le savoir-faire qui leur a été transmis, et ce en soutenant la création contemporaine.

DE LA LAINE MÉRINOS POUR NOS PLAIDS

Également confectionnés sur des métiers à tisser Jacquard dont le tissage permet leur rendu double-face bicolore, nos plaids sont composés de laine (50%) et de laine mérinos extrafine (50%) provenant de Nouvelle-Zélande. Caractérisée pour son extrême douceur, la laine mérinos fait de chacun de nos plaids de réels cocons.

Trois fois plus fine que la laine traditionnelle, la laine mérinos est une fibre luxueuse et écoresponsable. Confortable et résistante, elle est composée de fibres douces et soyeuses, permettant une régulation idéale de la chaleur. Très saine puisque non allergisante, elle convient aux peaux les plus sensibles.

Sur un lit, un fauteuil ou tout simplement autour des épaules, nos plaids en laine mérinos vous accompagnent, toujours en douceur.