Variations dessert plate

Designer: Marta Bakowski

130 €
Description

In collaboration with Maison Matisse and using the pictorial features present in Henri Matisse's painting La Musique (1939), designer Marta Bakowski has created a set of 6 dessert plates.
Ideal for the creation of your own dessert service due to its suitability for food use, it can shine on its own, or as part of a matching or colorful set, according to your desires.

Features

Dimensions (cm) : Ø7 x H1
Materials: earthenware 
Made for you, in Italy, in the region of Tuscany.

Maintenance advice
Hand wash with a mild soap and non-abrasive sponge, and then gently wipe with a lint-free cloth. Do not put in the dishwasher.
Delivery
In stock, delivered within 3 to 7 days.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

Arts and materials

Like the other objects in the collection, Maison Matisse uses the best know-how to create its pieces. The Variations earthenware dessert plate is made by one of the oldest family workshops in Tuscany, which was founded almost a century ago. It is first cast and then demolded by hand before being painted with the color slip chosen by the designer. 

The outline of the decorative design is applied using the spolvero technique. The design is then drawn on by hand with a miretta, a metal point frequently used by ceramists. The plate undergoes a series of two firings, between which a matte varnish is applied to the raw finish.

Maison Matisse puts much attention into how its pieces are made; as a consequence, it works in close collaboration with specialized craftsmen in order to obtain a unique result. The plate's combination of bright colors with a final matte finish is only possible through the work of expert hands having inherited an ancestral know-how passed down from generation to generation.

Inspiration

The philodendron leaf occupies a special place in the work of Henri Matisse. The motif of the Nuances plate is inspired by this graphic shape present in the background of the Henri Matisse's La Musique painted in 1939. 

When creating all the plates, Marta Bakowski systematically sought a balance between the shapes, patterns and colors. While the leaf creates gentle curves and undulations, the triangles and serrations of the Contrepoint plate introduce an energizing order. The challenge was to find a balance between these different forces.

Discover more about the inspirations behind the collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse invited the young designer Marta Bakowski to create its first permanent collection inspired by the painting La Musique (1939). The Franco-Polish designer took the palette of colors and brilliantly reinterpreted the most representative themes of Henri Matisse's work, such as the philodendron leaf, the figure of the woman and music.

More information

Marta Bakowski

Assiette à dessert Variations

Designer : Marta Bakowski

130 €
Description
En collaboration avec Maison Matisse et reprenant les codes présents dans le tableau La Musique d’Henri Matisse (1939), la designer Marta Bakowski a réalisé un ensemble de 6 assiettes à dessert.
Idéale pour la création de votre propre service à dessert car conforme à un usage alimentaire, elle saura évoluer seule ou composera un ensemble uniforme ou coloré, selon vos désirs.
Caractéristiques

Dimensions (cm) : Ø18 x H2,5
Matériaux : faïence
Fabriqué pour vous, en Italie, dans la région de Toscane

Conseils d'entretien
Lavage à la main avec un savon doux et une éponge non abrasive et un essuyage délicat avec un linge non pelucheux. Ne pas mettre au lave-vaisselle ou au micro-ondes.
Livraison
En stock, livré sous 3 à 7 jours.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

L'art et la Matière

A l'instar des autres objets de la collection, Maison Matisse fait appel aux meilleurs savoir-faire pour réaliser ses pièces. L’assiette à dessert en faïence Variations est ainsi réalisée par l'un des plus anciens ateliers familiaux fondé en Toscane il y a près d'un siècle. Elle est d'abord coulée puis démoulée à la main, avant d'être peinte avec l'engobe de la couleur choisie par la designer. 

Les contours du décor sont posés grâce à la technique du spolvero, puis le dessin est tracé à la main avec une miretta, pointe métallique fréquemment utilisée par les céramistes. L'assiette subit une série de deux cuissons, entre lesquelles est posé un vernis mat au rendu brut.

Maison Matisse prête une grande attention à la réalisation de ses pièces et travaille donc en étroite collaboration avec des artisans spécialisés, afin d'obtenir un rendu unique. L'alliance de couleur vive à un rendu final mat de l'assiette est uniquement permis par le travail de mains expertes, ayant héritées d'un savoir-faire ancestral de génération en génération.

L'inspiration

La feuille de philodendron occupe une place particulière dans l'œuvre d'Henri Matisse. C'est de cette forme graphique présente en arrière plan du tableau La Musique peint en 1939 par l'artiste, dont s'inspire le motif de l'assiette Variations.

Lors de la création de l'ensemble des assiettes, Marta Bakowski a systématiquement cherché l’équilibre, à la fois des formes, des motifs et des couleurs. Tandis que la feuille permet des courbes et des ondulations douces, les triangles et dentelures de l'assiette Contrepoint introduisent une rythmique énergisante. Le challenge était celui de trouver un équilibre entre ces différentes forces.

Découvrez-en plus sur les inspirations de la collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse a invité la jeune designer Marta Bakowski à créer sa première collection permanente. La jeune designer franco-polonaise, a extrait du tableau La Musique (1939) la palette de couleurs et réinterprété avec brio les thèmes le plus représentatifs de l'œuvre d'Henri Matisse, comme la feuille de philodendron, la figure de la femme et la musique.

Plus d'informations

Marta Bakowski