Carré dessert plate

Designer: Marta Bakowski

130 €
Description
The Carré dessert plate is part of our La Musique collection, the first permanent collection created in collaboration with designer Marta Bakowski. Composed of a set of ceramic tableware including 6 dessert plates, the collection reveals the universe of Henri Matisse’s painting La Musique (1939). 
Available in a range of 6 different colors and 6 different patterns, our plates are sold individually and are suitable for food use. This makes it possible to create a colorful or matching dessert service, according to your desires.
Features

Dimensions (in.) :  Ø7 x H1
Materials: earthenware 
Made for you, in Italy, in the region of Tuscany.

Maintenance advice
Hand wash with a mild soap and non-abrasive sponge, and then gently wipe with a lint-free cloth. Do not put in the dishwasher
Delivery
In stock, delivered within 3 to 7 days.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

Arts and materials

The Carré dessert plate is made of earthenware in one of the oldest family workshops in Italy, which was founded in Tuscany in 1921. The plate is first cast and demolded by hand before being painted with the chosen color slip. The decorative design is then applied to the biscuit using the spolvero technique.

Spolvero was a method used extensively during the Italian Renaissance in workshops for painting frescoes on the vaults of many buildings. The drawing is then traced with a metal point called a "miretta". Finally, a first firing is done before applying a matte enamel, and then a second firing ensures that the colors are well fixed.


Combining a warm color with a matte finish, the Carré plate is the result of the ancestral know-how of some of the last Italian craftsmen skilled in this activity

Inspiration

Inspired by the Henri Matisse's La Musique, painted in 1939, the Carré plate reproduces the grid pattern present in the painting. During her research work, Marta Bakowski wanted to create a new primary feeling with the choice of the color palette. While remaining faithful to the painter's colors, she chose to prioritize the hues that remain most imprinted in our memories, and which create both harmony and dissonance, namely red, green, blue, and yellow ochre. She also chose black for its contrasting power, and white for its brightness and freshness

Discover more about the inspirations behind the collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse invited the young designer Marta Bakowski to create its first permanent collection inspired by the painting La Musique (1939). The Franco-Polish designer took the palette of colors and brilliantly reinterpreted the most representative themes of Henri Matisse's work, such as the philodendron leaf, the figure of the woman and music.

More information

Marta Bakowski

Assiette à dessert Carré

Designer : Marta Bakowski

130 €
Description
L'assiette à dessert Carré prend place au sein de notre collection La Musique, première collection permanente imaginée en collaboration avec la designer Marta Bakowski. Comprenant un ensemble d’objets d'art de la table en céramique dont 6 assiettes à dessert, la collection déploie l'univers du tableau La Musique d'Henri Matisse (1939). 
Déclinées à travers une gamme de 6 coloris et 6 motifs différents, nos assiettes sont vendues à l’unité et conformes à un usage alimentaire, elles rendent possible la création d’un service personnalisé uniforme ou coloré, selon vos envies.
Caractéristiques

Dimensions (cm) : Ø18 x H2,5
Matériaux : faïence
Fabriqué pour vous, en Italie, dans la région de Toscane

Conseils d'entretien
Lavage à la main avec un savon doux et une éponge non abrasive et un essuyage délicat avec un linge non pelucheux. Ne pas mettre au lave-vaisselle ou au micro-ondes.
Livraison
En stock, livré sous 3 à 7 jours.

Si vous êtes un professionnel

Contactez-nous

L'art et la Matière

L’assiette à dessert Carré est réalisée en faïence, dans l'une des plus anciennes manufactures familiales fondées en Toscane en 1921. D'abord coulée puis démoulée à la main, l'assiette est peinte avec l'engobe de la couleur choisie, avant de voir son décor être appliqué sur le biscuit en suivant la technique du spolvero.

 

Le spolvero est une méthode utilisée abondamment à la Renaissance italienne, dans le travail des ateliers lors de la réalisation de fresques sur les voûtes de nombreux édifices. Ensuite, le dessin est tracé à l’aide d’une pointe métallique appelée « miretta ». Enfin, une première cuisson est réalisée avant d'apposer un émail mat, et une deuxième cuisson vient s'assurer de la bonne fixation des couleurs. Alliant couleur chaleureuse et rendu final mat, l’assiette Carré est le fruit du savoir-faire ancestral mis à disposition par des artisans italiens parmi les derniers en activité.

L'inspiration

Inspiré du tableau La Musique peint en 1939 par Henri Matisse, le motif de l'assiette Carré reprend le quadrillage présent sur la toile. Lors de son travail de recherche, Marta Bakowski eut à coeur de retrouver un sentiment primaire quant au choix de la palette. Tout en restant fidèle aux couleurs du peintre, elle choisit de privilégier les teintes qui restent le plus imprimées en mémoire et qui permettent à la fois des harmonies et dissonances, à savoir le rouge, le vert, le bleu et l’ocre jaune. Elle choisit également le noir pour son pouvoir contrastant et le blanc pour sa luminosité et sa fraicheur.

Découvrez-en plus sur les inspirations de la collection

Henri Matisse, La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

Marta Bakowski

Maison Matisse a invité la jeune designer Marta Bakowski à créer sa première collection permanente. La jeune designer franco-polonaise, a extrait du tableau La Musique (1939) la palette de couleurs et réinterprété avec brio les thèmes le plus représentatifs de l'œuvre d'Henri Matisse, comme la feuille de philodendron, la figure de la femme et la musique.

Plus d'informations

Marta Bakowski