Founded by the fourth generation of Henri Matisse's descendants, Maison Matisse wishes to perpetuate the painter's universe through unique collections created in collaboration with emerging and established international designers.

Each collection is thus designed to reinterpret one of the painter's works, and meticulously crafted by artisans with ancestral know-how.

In addition to sharing his world, Maison Matisse is deeply imbued with the artist's values and shares with him many of his great loves, which we reveal this month:

la musique

The colors

Destined for a career as a notary clerk, the young Henri Matisse was forced to rest following an illness. It was during his convalescence that he discovered his love for color and painting.

This love will never leave him, and will be the very force of his work, pushing him towards in-depth research on colors and their contrasts, carefully organizing them on the canvas as a musician organizes the notes of a score.

*Henri Matisse,La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © H. Matisse Succession.

"For me is was paradise found

a place where I was completely free, alone, quiet, tranquil, whereas I was always a little anxious, bored and worried in the different things that I was made to do". 

Henri Matisse

Maison Matisse shares this same love for color with the designers behind our collections.

Thus Marta Bakowski, who reinterpreted the masterpiece La Musique (1939) has created a complete collection of tableware inspired by the work's palette. The result of this collaboration are several dishes, plates and pitchers in ceramics, entirely handmade by one of the oldest artisanal manufacture in Italy.

Harmonie large serving bowl
Harmonie large serving bowl 1 450 €
Carré cup, red
Carré cup, red 52 €
Harmonie bottle
Harmonie bottle 960 €
Variations dessert plate
Variations dessert plate 130 €

The fabrics

Henri Matisse's love for materials, especially textiles, is a gift from his family heritage. Born into a family of weavers, on his father's side, he devoted his whole life to textiles and was largely inspired by them to create the decorations of many of his paintings, such as the very decorative Intérieur aux aubergines.

Throughout his life, the painter amassed an impressive collection of textiles from all over the world: French tapestries, Persian rugs and African wall hangings.

It is to pay tribute to this love that Maison Matisse has chosen to develop an entire range of textile pieces, from cushions to throws and wall tapestries, combining research, ancestral know-how and meticulousness.

Louise blanket - duck green/burgundy
Louise blanket - duck green/burgundy 480 €
Belle-épine cushion - Green
Belle-épine cushion - Green 690 €
Louise blanket - terracotta/blue gray
Louise blanket - terracotta/blue gray 480 €
Belle-épine rectangle cushion green
Belle-épine rectangle cushion green 270 €

The objet

Being an avid and fastidious collector, Henri Matisse gave a particular importance to objects and liked to make them play the leading roles in his pictorial scenes. All these pieces acquired over the years have been passed on to the different generations of the painter, and continue to bring his singular universe to life.

This spirit of transmission as well as the love of the object are the starting point of Maison Matisse, which wishes today to conceive pieces witnessing the philosophy of the painter, between sharing, optimism and generosity. The history of our decorative objets is thus written by several hands, by our designers and craftsmen, and will continue in your home, from generation to generation.

Dessert plate Nuance
Dessert plate Nuance 130 €
Cadence vase, green
Cadence vase, green 280 €
Autumn rectangular box
Autumn rectangular box 190 €
Piccolo candle holder, green
Piccolo candle holder, green 80 €

"My goal is to convey my emotion

This state of mind is created by the objects that surround me and which react within me.

Henri Matisse

Fondée par les quatrième génération des descendants d'Henri Matisse, Maison Matisse souhaite perpétuer l'univers du peintre à travers des collections uniques créées en collaboration avec des designers internationaux, émergents ou confirmés.

Chaque collection est ainsi pensée pour réinterpréter l'une des oeuvres du peintre, et fabriquée minutieusement par des artisans au savoir-faire ancestral.

En plus de partager son univers, Maison Matisse est profondément imprégnée des valeurs de l'artiste et partage avec lui nombreux de ses grands amours, que nous vous dévoilons ce mois-ci :

la musique

La couleur

Destiné à une carrière de clerc de notaire, le jeune Henri Matisse est poussé au repos à la suite d’une maladie. C’est lors de sa convalescence qu’il va découvrir son amour pour la couleur et la peinture.

Cet amour ne va jamais le quitter, et sera la force même de son Œuvre, le poussant vers des recherches approfondies sur les couleurs et leurs contrastes, les organisant soigneusement sur la toile comme un musicien organise les notes d’une partition.

*Henri Matisse,La Musique (1939), Albright-Knox Art Gallery - Buffalo (Etats-Unis) © Succession H. Matisse.

"Pour moi c'était le Paradis trouvé

dans lequel j'étais tout à fait libre, seul, tranquille, confiant tandis que j'étais toujours un peu anxieux, ennuyé et inquiet dans les différentes choses qu'on me faisait faire". 

Henri Matisse

Ce même amour pour la couleur, Maison Matisse le partage avec les designers à l’origine de nos collections.

Ainsi Marta Bakowski, qui a réinterprété pour Maison Matisse le chef d'oeuvre La Musique (1939), a imaginé une collection complète d'art de la table inspirée par la palette de l'oeuvre. Sont nés de cette collaboration plusieurs plats, assiettes et carafes en céramique, entièrement réalisés à la main par l'une des plus anciennes manufacture artisanale d'Italie.

Grand plat creux Harmonie
Grand plat creux Harmonie 1 450 €
Gobelet Carré, rouge
Gobelet Carré, rouge 52 €
Bouteille Harmonie
Bouteille Harmonie 960 €
Assiette à dessert Variations
Assiette à dessert Variations 130 €

La matière

L’amour d’Henri Matisse pour la matière, en particulier pour le textile, est un cadeau issu de son héritage familial. Né dans une famille de tisserands, du côté de son père, il vouera toute sa vie une passion pour les textiles et s’en inspirera largement pour créer les décors de nombreux de ses tableaux, à l’image du très décoratif Intérieur aux aubergines.

Le peintre amassera d'ailleurs toute sa vie une impressionnante collection de textiles du monde entier : tapisseries françaises, tapis persans ou encore tentures murales africaines.

C’est pour rendre hommage à cet amour que Maison Matisse a choisi de développer une gamme entière de pièces textiles, des coussins au plaids en passant par des tapisseries murales, en alliant recherche, savoir-faire ancestral et minutie.

Plaid Louise vert canard/bordeaux
Plaid Louise vert canard/bordeaux 480 €
Coussin Belle-épine vert
Coussin Belle-épine vert 690 €
Plaid Louise bleu gris/terracotta
Plaid Louise bleu gris/terracotta 480 €
Coussin Belle-Épine rectangle vert
Coussin Belle-Épine rectangle vert 270 €

L'objet

Étant un collectionneur avide et pointilleux, Henri Matisse donnait une importance particulière aux objets et aimait leur faire jouer les premiers rôles de ses scènes picturales. Toutes ces pièces acquises au fil des années ont ensuite été transmises aux différentes générations du peintre, et continuent de faire vivre son univers si singulier.

Cet esprit de transmission ainsi que l’amour de l’objet sont le point de départ de Maison Matisse, qui souhaite aujourd’hui concevoir des pièces témoins de la philosophie du peintre, entre partage, optimisme et générosité. L’histoire de nos objets décoratifs est ainsi écrite à plusieurs mains, par nos designers et artisans, et continuera chez vous, de génération en génération.

Assiette à dessert Nuance
Assiette à dessert Nuance 130 €
Vase Cadence, vert
Vase Cadence, vert 280 €
Boîte rectangulaire Automne
Boîte rectangulaire Automne 190 €
Bougeoir Piccolo, vert et noir
Bougeoir Piccolo, vert et noir 80 €

"Mon but est de rendre mon émotion.

Cet état d’âme est créé par les objets qui m’entourent et qui réagissent en moi".

Henri Matisse